top of page
  • sheadawson

INTERVIEW: Jude York talks LA, 'librarian gays', and Lorde


From the perfectly organised Harry Potter book series, to the powered-on microphone, even the background of our call speaks volumes on the personality of Toowoomba singer/songwriter/producer Jude York.


The excitement oozes from his voice as he gushes about all of the exciting things he's been up to over the last few months - and of course, what's still to come.


Since appearing on Australia: Eurovision Decides earlier this year with his song 'I Won't Need to Dream,' York's online following has skyrocketed.

Particularly on TikTok, he enjoys an active and passionate following. Whether it's with his 'Hi gay,' opening line, or poignant lyricism, fans seem to gravitate towards the young singer's introspective reflections on queerness and romanticism of the otherwise-mundane.


I sat down with Jude to chat about some of his new demos, musical inspirations and our shared love for Lorde.

 

Hey Jude, thanks for chatting with me this morning! How about we start off with your trip to the USA earlier this year? Can you tell me a bit about the trip?


It happened really quickly and spontaneously. My manager was already taking a few artists over there, and maybe a few weeks out from their departure date, they were like, "Hey Jude, do you want to come? We might be able to line some things up for you."


I was super nervous and scared about the idea - obviously it's a big commitment and it's a lot of money - it's not something you want to do if you're going to sit idly in an apartment if you're not going to have anything to do, or people to go to, or sessions to write. But, I made the commitment and it was just a really amazing whirlwind of a time! I got to write pretty much every day I was there except the weekends. It was such a fun little family vibe between me and all the other artists I was staying with and writing with.


It was one of the standout periods of my life so far - having such an intense period of writing, which you just can't really get in Australia.


I've seen that a lot of demos have come as the result of that trip. I have a hunch they're the ones you've been posting on TikTok - is that correct?


Pretty much, yeah. A lot of them are definitely from LA. There was something really special about getting to work with other producers as well - often it's just me producing my own work. So that was a really special thing, to hear how these LA producers (and actually see with my own eyes) what they're doing to my vocals; what they're doing to the synths to make them sound like that.


I just love everything that's come out of that trip. A lot of the songs are definitely ones that I want to release, and people have been responding really well to them on TikTok.


I'm so glad you bring up TikTok, because that segues really nicely! Your TikTok game seems to have improved exponentially since LA. Everything starts with a 'Hi gay...' which I love - it's so funny. People seem to be really responding to your demo of 'Mr Porcelain.' Could you tell me a bit more about the song?


Sure! That one actually came just before I went to LA - I was in Sydney. It was such a special little session. I basically came up with that little chorus idea the night before and took it to a producer ... and that idea was one that he gravitated towards instantly. Basically, the song is just about having a crush on somebody!


It was inspired by seeing someone on Instagram and feeling utterly flawed by their non-humanness; feeling like this insignificant, scrappy, non-human thing in comparison with this shining perfection of sculpted beauty. I think that really came across in the song and I've been really thrilled with how everyone's relating to it on TikTok.


It's definitely surprising - but I'm here for it! I love to hear everyone's reactions and it's so sweet how everyone is telling me who that person is for them - I think that's really special.


It's obviously resonating with a lot of people. Are there any comments in particular that have really stood out to you?


I think a lot of people have been talking about their high school crushes, which makes total sense. I think I was writing from a place of innocent, youthful naivety, so I think that's been standing out. Comments like, "It reminds me of my crush in Year 12 and I remember the time that he told me he liked me back but I wasn't ready to commit at the time because I was struggling with my own internalised homophobia," and things like that. I'm like "Oh, my God, thank you for sharing that really intimate piece of information with me!"


I think it's those stories where they're really pouring their heart out in my comments section or in my DMs that have made me really excited about the song and grateful for the people who've started following me. I really hope I can put that one out at some stage.


Keeping with the TikTok theme - There was a post you made a while ago referring to yourself as a 'Librarian Gay' and I feel that's such a perfect description. How do you find that's represented in your music and content?


I feel like I'm a very reflective, somewhat introspective and just wholesome guy. I was talking to [a friend] who said that randomly, talking about my partner and I. He asked "What's your partner like? Is he out there and club-going, or is he a librarian gay like you?"


I was like "Oh my God!" I've never even thought of myself like that, but it's so accurate. I think me and a lot of the people who follow me are just like these book-reading, maybe introverted, reflective, philosophical people who just happen to be gay and living through these experiences. I think a lot of that introspection comes across in my music because I think music is my outlet to put all of those deep thoughts into.


You bring up using music as an outlet, and I know that you're from a regional area - do you think that manifests in your music?


Definitely! I think there's something really strong within me that's always felt like an outsider - to a point where I go to places that are very queer-inclusive and progressive and I feel like I don't even know what to do with myself to be in a space where people are like me. I think a lot of my music talks about feeling like the outsider and feeling like I'm in a world that doesn't understand me.


It's definitely pushed me further in the direction of wanting to explore my queerness; wanting to write about emotional things and deconstruct masculinity and do all these things, because I know that my music is an island in my little community. I don't have that many gay friends, or progressive people around me who I can talk to about these things, and that's really encouraged me to explore those themes in my music.


You're getting me all emotional!


It's a thing! I don't even know what it would feel like to be in a place like inner-city Melbourne, or LA... especially LA, where you're around artists and queer people all the time - I found that such an interesting experience, where I didn't even know what to do with myself. I think because I'm not in those spaces, the people who relate to my music a lot are also in regional areas.


I've had messages from people in the Middle East who relate to my music - because there's obviously some sort of connection there with feeling like the outsider, or feeling like they don't feel accepted in some way.


Moving on from the emotional stuff... do you have any specific inspirations - musical or non-musical?


I think, musically, Lorde is a big inspiration in terms of song writing?


Can you see Lorde's Melodrama album on the wall behind me?


Oh my gosh - best album of all time! Is that your favourite?


How could it not be?


It's the pinnacle.


Exactly - music peaked in 2017 with Melodrama... it's all downhill from here.


I was in Spain when I first listened to the whole album. It was such a good experience - I just remember riding the trains and walking through the villages just bopping to 'Supercut,' and thinking, "This is doing things to me I didn't think could be done." It's the ultimate cry-dance song!


I think that's so clear in your music - the 'cry-dance' of it all!


It's therapeutic. I think the cry-dance thing is very strongly influenced by Lorde and Robyn. the people I bop to; I cry to; I ride my bike to; I cry in the shower to - I think I said cry twice.


I think beyond that, I love listening to old music as well. I love Nat King Cole, Ella Fitzgerald, Judy Garland and even a little bit of John Lennon, the Beatles, Bob Dylan. I hope people can hear a little bit of those classic artists in my music.



I love that you said non-musical inspirations too, because I feel like that at least 60%, if not 70% of my songs are influenced by movies or TV shows or books. Even 'Mr Porcelain' for example, there's parts of that influenced by TV shows. I've written songs inspired by 'Heartstopper' or by romantic comedies I'd watch with my Mum as a kid. A lot of my music has characters in it. I'll watch a movie and go straight to my piano and write.


This is going to sound very left-of-field, but sometimes my influences are also YouTubers, surprisingly. I love video essays. I just really love to watch people use their huge brains to really tear something to shreds, or pull things apart and examine them. That's always been really inspiring to me - I feel like the librarian gay when I do that - I put on my glasses, I open my book and just study it.


That's so good! Thanks so much for chatting with me Jude. Is there anything exciting you want to promote?


At the moment I don't really have any release dates or gig dates, but all I can say is a big thank you to everyone who is messaging, supporting and following me. All of those things, despite seeming like they're just part of the digital void, they're making a really concrete impact on my career and it's super helpful - so thanks to everyone who's doing that!


You can find Jude York on Instagram and TikTok as @itsjudeyork.

76 views0 comments
bottom of page