top of page
  • sheadawson

INTERVIEW: Matt Landi talks 'Star of the Show', loving love and musical inspirations


Ask any theatre kid, and they’ll tell you there are few things more powerful than a whirlwind stage romance. The way the spotlight brings out the best in a person, dragging to centrestage a yearning only possible from a young thespian yet to discover life outside a high-school auditorium. Add to that a world where characters will break into song and dance on a whim, and you’ve got the recipe for a sizzling romance.


It's a feeling young Sydney musician Matt Landi captures in his new single ‘Star of the Show.’ Armed with a pen, a saxophone and a dash of auto tune, Landi sets out to express the unnatural perfection of a stage show’s leading player – for better or for worse.


Lyrically exploring the nuances of falling for the unattainable, the single flows through jazzy undertones, set to a yearning underscore of backing harmonies. It's reminiscent of the odd melancholy that falls upon an audience during curtain call - the feeling that no matter how spectacular the show was, it's time to return to the real world.


I sat down with Matt a week after the release of 'Star of the Show', to chat about the inspirations behind the project and what's next for the 24-year-old artist.



Thanks for chatting with me Matt. Congratulations, first of all, on the new single. Talk to me a bit about what this song means to you - why did you decide this would be the next song you release?


'Star of the Show', is a lovely little indie-pop song mixed with jazz. It's a love song, but it's in my style - it's got pop, it's got elements of theatre in it, it's got jazz. I'm crooning at times and then belting, and there's some auto tune in there... and then it's got the sax.


It's kind of just got everything that I love about creating music - all in one song.


If I had to say why I decided to release it, it would just have to be that I love the song too much for it not to be heard.


You seem to use a lot of sax, not just in this song, but in some of your other music as well. Is the saxophone your first instrument?


No. Actually, I started on the clarinet years ago – when I was about 8. And before that, I started singing at six. But there is a baby photo of mine holding a drumstick… so I don’t know what you could really call my first instrument.


You also bring up a theatre influence. Do you have a musical theatre background?

A little bit, yeah. I've done a bit of musical theatre here and there. I've done a lot of drama and acting and writing, so I've got a lot of love for the space, absolutely. I think last year, when I was writing the song, I just ended up going to a lot of plays and a lot of shows. One that really stood out was Bernie Dieter’s ‘Club Kabarett’. They came down to Sydney, and it was just an absolute extravaganza of a show, and it really inspired me.


And I was like, “I'd love to make a song, that's just all about a show. But there's a star in the show, and I'm in love with the star, you know.”


You've touched on this continued metaphor of a show that carries through song. And the leading player, being the romantic interest… is this based on a particular person?

Oh, it was absolutely based on someone. I was very much inspired one day to just like write about this person. And there was kind of a culmination of things. It was the going out, seeing shows, and then dating this particular person that just came altogether. And this metaphor just suddenly was born. I just started to run with it and really play it out, you know?


I suppose that, in a way, links with other sort of dramatic elements in some of your other music, including your debut album last year. On that album, your queerness really takes centrestage. I don't know about you, but as a young gay person I often felt like I was waiting in the wings for my turn. Do you think there's an element of queer introspection in ‘Star of the Show’?

I love what you said that waiting in the wings – that’s very nice. Yeah. Half of the lyrics are saying, “I'm just the harmony in the chorus.” So it's kind of like, I'm idealizing this star of the show and you know, I've been so used to being just the harmony. But here I really want to support the star. I just really want to support the star, I keep repeating, “You’re the star.”


Were there any other specific inspirations for this project?


I'd say I've got a lot of musical inspiration. I love listening to love songs in particular. I don't know. I am just an absolute lover of love songs.


Right now I'm listening to ‘Aleksiah, this amazing artist from Adelaide. She's just got this lovely song out called ‘Ant Song.’ Oh, I love it so much. I'm also a little bit inspired by Chloe Morindo's hyper-pop album 'SuckerPunch' for all the auto tune vocals. I thought it would be fun to use as an effect - to make everything sound cute.

I also love reading books - queer love stories, fantasy books.


So what's next for Matt Landi?


I actually was just working on a song just before chatting with you - It's the next single and I'm really excited about it. It just gets me going, and it’s kind of in a similar theme – I’ll put it that way. I don’t want to give away too much.


One last question – for someone who hasn’t heard your music yet, how would you describe yourself?


I'd say, “Hi, there! It's nice to meet you.


My name is Matt Landi. I'm a singer/songwriter/saxophonist, making quirky, fun indie-pop songs."




Star of the Show is out now on all streaming platforms.

68 views0 comments
bottom of page