top of page
  • sheadawson

Ranked: My Top 10 New Music Releases of 2022

As we rapidly approach the end of another year (where has it gone?), it's time once again to list off my musical highlights of the year.


As always, I have limited myself to just one song by each artist - but where possible, I've included honourable mentions that nearly made the list!


One more quick caveat - singles that were released in 2021 but on 2022 albums are fair game.



Without further ado, here's my top ten songs of 2022:


#10: Indie Alt Boys - Ghostryder

Not since Charli XCX (*hint*) has a song hooked me in so quickly by repeating the word 'boys'.


LA-based artist Ghostryder has quickly cemented himself as one of my favourite emerging artists. From his witty lyrics to comical take on queer-culture, I have found myself coming back to his music time and time again.


I even had the pleasure of sitting down (at 4am on Zoom) with Ghostryder to chat about his single '10 roomates' (read the interview here!).


Honourable mentions: Just listen to Ghostryder's EP. You won't regret it.


#9: Shut Down - BLACKPINK

If you know me at all, you'd know the fastest way to my heart is through classical music. So put La Campanella over a trap beat and you have me hooked.


While I'll be the first to admit I'm not a KPOP fan by any stretch of the imagination, there's something about BLACKPINK that pulls me in - and holds me there. There's definitely something in the trademark 'BLACKPINK in your area!' that gets me.


The lyrics definitely leave a bit to be desired, but the Paganini/Lizst of it all blazes Shut Down onto my top 10.


#8: Stick Season - Noah Kahan

Another new discovery for me this year, Noah Kahan's voice has a whimsical, nostalgic quality I struggle to describe.


His raspy tombre, combined with cynical lyricism transports me to the Northeast of the United States without fail.


The light anger Kahan captures in Stick Season, while maintaining a romanticised Americana feel is what earns it a spot on my list.


#7: Carolina - Taylor Swift (From Where the Crawdads Sing)

Sticking with the theme of Americana, Carolina ultimately takes the cake as my favourite 2022 new release by Swift.


It definitely wasn't an easy choice, given the hefty competition on her tenth studio album, but this song written for Where the Crawdads Sing (which I admittedly haven't seen) captures a distinctly haunting nostalgic feel.


The song moves along with an eerie momentum, with Swift leaning into her Folklore-era breathy vocals to create a striking narrative.


Honourable Mentions: Anti-hero, Midnight Rain, Vigilante Shit


#6: Catch Me In the Air - Rina Sawayama

Coming off the back of one of my favourite albums of the last decade, Rina Sawayama had a lot to live up to with her sophomore outing.


While I wasn't a huge fan of a lot of the album's B-Sides, this single offers a new sound for Sawayama.


Leaning away from her trademark cynicism and biting lyrics into a more uplifting anthemic piece was a move I didn't expect from the Japanese-British artist, but it's one I'm excited to see more of.


Honourable Mentions: This Hell, Holy (Til you let me go), Phantom


#5: The Collector - Missy Higgins

For me, few Australian singers come close to the vocal control and prowess of superstar Missy Higgins.


From the second her first lyric kicks in on The Collector, you're in for a romping ballad - complete with all sorts of impressive vocal acrobatics. Add to the mix her trademark Australian accent and raspy tombre, and you've got a recipe for goosebumps.


In my opinion, the song shows off Higgins' vocal talents better than any other she's released prior. The choice to kick the number off a capella, gradually building into a driving drum beat and choral backing is genius.


#4: CUFF IT - Beyonc

With her 2022 album, Beyoncé decided to answer the age old question of "Which was more cultural significant - the Reanissance or Single Ladies by Beyonce?"


The answer, of course - both!


Of the house-inspired bangers on RENAISSANCE, CUFF IT is my favourite for how it leans into a softer, more romantic side, while maintaining a driving dance beat. It's an infectious, anthemic party banger - plain and simple.


Honourable mentions: ALIEN SUPERSTAR, COZY, BREAK MY SOUL,


#3 reckless driving - Lizzy McAlpine, Ben Kessler

With a spectacular crescendo throughout and adept call and response lyrics giving way to a stunning display of harmony, reckless driving cracks the top 3 songs of the year for me.


McAlpine and Kessler play out a relationship within a car, in a uniquely inspired tragic love story.


The song swells in a swirling build, only to not resolve. It's a distinct choice that's kept me hooked.


#2: Threads - Indy

Some families are just insanely talented, and that's certainly the case with the family of Ella Yelich-O'Connor (more commonly known as Lorde).


As sister of the international superstar, Indy had her work cut out for her to develop a unique sound. In her debut single Threads, she showcases an adept eye for lyricism and clear, crisp vocals.


Indy creates a trance-like song reminiscent of Lorde's best, but still it's own thing entirely. I can't wait to watch where her career goes.


#1: Lightning - Charli XCX


What can I say? I'm an absolute sucker for a stripped back beginning to a chorus swelling into a well-instrumented arrangement.


That's exactly what happens in Charli XCX's Lightning. The chorus starts with a heavily auto-tuned but otherwise stripped 'Heartbreak already hit me once / they say that it won't happen twice'. From there, it quickly swells to a masterclass in dance-pop, with heavy synth and drum beats kicking in for the rest of the chorus.


It's an infectious 'drop' that creates a beautiful dissonance every time without fail.


With her 2022 album Crash, Charli once again proves herself a master of modern pop music. While I may be in the minority, I appreciate her returning to a slightly dialled-back sound. Despite leaning away from it a little, her trademark hyper-pop elements are still present. Particularly towards the bridge, Charli leans into the techno and 'escape room' elements she's best known for, before returning to a more classic pop feel for the final chorus.


For these reasons, I couldn't choose any other song but Lightning for my top song of 2022.


Honourable mentions: All of Crash.





36 views0 comments
bottom of page